

FACT SHEET

2016 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTION RESULT TRENDS

Highlights

- 49.4 per cent of 637 vacancies were filled by incumbent councillors, while 32.6 per cent of contesting councillors were defeated
- 50.5 per cent are new councillors, and voters elected 38 per cent women councillors.

Candidates

- 2,135 candidates nominated across 78 municipalities (Geelong did not hold an election)
- 466 sitting councillors contested the election (77 per cent), while 138 councillors retired
- All incumbents contested the election in 12 municipalities
- 46 councillors from 19 municipalities (7 per cent of vacancies) were elected unopposed.

Returned (incumbent) councillors

- 315 contesting incumbent councillors were returned (49.4 per cent)
- 47 incumbent mayors were returned, and another 15 mayors retired
- 13 councils retained all incumbents who contested the elections, while a further 20 councils lost only one contesting councillor
- 11 municipalities had six or more sitting councillors returned
- 34 councillors were re-elected unopposed, including seven mayors (Boroondara, Campaspe, Corangamite, Loddon, Mansfield, Murrindindi, Towong).

New councillors

- 322 new councillors were elected (50.5 per cent of the total vacancies)
- 12 new councillors were elected unopposed across six municipalities
- More than 50 per cent of councillors are new in 42 municipalities
- Five councils have large numbers of new councillors as a majority of incumbents retired
- Highest number of new councillors are in Brimbank (11), Bass Coast (8) and Mornington Peninsula (8).

Defeated councillors

- 152 contesting councillors were defeated (32.6 per cent)
- A majority of incumbents who contested the election were defeated in eight councils
- 14 contesting mayors were defeated: Colac Otway, Frankston, Glen Eira, Glenelg, Horsham, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, Mitchell, Moorabool, Nillumbik, South Gippsland, Whitehorse, Wyndham, Yarra.

Women representation

- 241 or 38 per cent of all councillors elected are women, up from 34 per cent in 2012
- All 78 councils have women councillors
- Fifteen councils have a majority of women councillors: Brimbank (7/11), Corangamite (5/7), Darebin (6/9), Greater Bendigo (5/9), Indigo (4/7), Macedon Ranges (4/7), Manningham (5/9), Maribyrnong (5/7), Melton (5/9), Moonee Valley (5/9), Murrindindi (5/7), Stonnington (5/9), Surf Coast (5/9), Whitehorse (6/10), Yarra (5/9).



FACT SHEET

Municipality	Mayor	Incumbents		Returned councillors	New councillors	Women councillors^	Elected unopposed	TOTAL ELECTED#
		Retired	Lost	ood nomers	oodiioiioi 3	oodiioiiioi s	апоррозоц	EEEG LED#
Alpine	Returned	1	1	5	2	2 (2)	-	7
Ararat	Returned	1	3	3	4	3 (2)	-	7
Ballarat	Returned	0	4	5	4	3 (4)	-	9
Banyule	Returned	1	1	5	2	1 (1)	2	7
Bass Coast	Retired	2	4	1	8	2 (3)	-	9 (7)
Baw Baw	Returned	4	1	4	5	3 (3)	-	9
Bayside	Returned	2	1	4	3	1 (2)	_	7
Benalla	Retired	2	3	2	5	2 (4)	_	7
Boroondara	Returned*	3	1	6	4	5 (3)	1	10
Brimbank	-	0	0	-	11	7	-	11
Buloke	Retired	4	0	3	4	2 (2)	_	7
Campaspe	Returned*	3	1	5	4	4 (3)	3	9
Cardinia	Returned	2	2	5	4	3 (4)		9
Casey	Returned	0	4	7	4	4 (4)	_	11
Central Goldfields	Returned	2	0	5	2	3 (3)	1	7
Colac Otway	Defeated	1	3	3	4	1 (1)	1	7
Corangamite	Returned*	2	2	3	4	5 (2)	3	7
Darebin	Retired	4	1	4	5	6 (2)	3	9
		1			5		-	
East Gippsland	Returned	0	4	5	4	2 (3)	-	9
Frankston	Defeated	0	4		4	3 (3)	-	9
Gannawarra	Returned	2	2	3	4	3 (1)	-	7
Glen Eira	Defeated	ı	4	4	5	4 (2)	-	9
Glenelg	Defeated	0	2	5	2	3 (2)	-	7
Golden Plains	Returned	2	2	3	4	2 (2)	-	7
Greater Bendigo	Retired	2	5	2	7	5 (3)	-	9
Greater	Returned	1	1	9	2	3 (3)	-	11
Dandenong								
Greater Geelong	T = .				r administratio			T - (=)
Greater	Returned	1	1	5	4	4 (2)	-	9 (7)
Shepparton						- 4.3	_	_
Hepburn	Returned	1	1	5	2	2 (1)	2	7
Hindmarsh	Returned	0	1	5	1	1 (2)	2	6
Hobsons Bay	Returned	2	2	3	4	4 (3)**	-	7
Horsham	Defeated	3	1	3	4	2 (3)	-	7
Hume	Retired	4	3	4	7	5 (3)	-	11
Indigo	Returned	1	2	4	3	4 (3)	-	7
Kingston	Returned	2	0	7	2	4 (3)	-	9
Knox	Returned	2	0	7	2	2 (3)	2	9
Latrobe	Defeated	1	3	5	4	2 (4)	-	9
Loddon	Returned*	0	0	5	0	2 (2)	3	5
Macedon Ranges	Defeated	3	4	2	7	5 (2)	-	9
Manningham	Returned	0	3	5	4	5 (4)	-	9
Mansfield	Returned*	3	0	2	3	1 (2)	5	5
Maribyrnong	Retired	3	1	3	4	5 (2)	-	7
Maroondah	Retired	1	4	4	5	4 (5)	-	9
Melbourne	Returned	1	5	6	5	4 (4)	-	11
Melton	Returned	1	2	4	5	5 (5)	-	9 (7)



FACT SHEET

Municipality	Mayor	Incumbents		Returned councillors	New councillors	Women councillors^	Elected unopposed	TOTAL ELECTED#
		Retired	Lost	Councillors	Councillors	Councillors	unopposeu	ELECTED#
Mildura	Returned	0	4	5	4	2 (4)	-	9
Mitchell	Defeated	3	2	4	5	3 (2)	-	9
Moira	Returned	1	2	6	3	2 (3)	-	9
Monash	Returned	3	3	5	6	2 (4)	-	11
Moonee Valley	Returned	0	3	6	3	5 (4)	-	9
Moorabool	Defeated	1	1	5	2	1 (1)	1	7
Moreland	Returned	4	1	6	5	5 (6)	-	11
Mornington Peninsula	Retired	6	1	3	8	5 (3)	-	11
Mount Alexander	Returned	1	1	5	2	3 (3)	2	7
Moyne	Returned	0	2	4	3	1 (1)	-	7
Murrindindi	Returned*	2	2	2	5	5 (2)	4	7
Nillumbik	Defeated	2	4	1	6	2 (4)	-	7
Northern Grampians	Returned	2	0	5	2	2 (2)	4	7
Port Phillip	Returned	3	2	2	7	3 (5)	_	9 (7)
Pyrenees	Returned	0	0	5	0	1 (1)	3	5
Queenscliffe	Returned	1	2	2	3	1 (3)	_	5
South Gippsland	Defeated	1	5	3	6	4 (3)	-	9
Southern Grampians	Retired	2	2	3	4	3 (2)	-	7
Stonnington	Retired	1	4	4	5	5 (4)	-	9
Strathbogie	Retired	3	1	3	4	3 (2)	-	7
Surf Coast	Returned	1	0	7	2	5 (5)	1	9
Swan Hill	Returned	4	0	3	4	2 (1)	1	7
Towong	Returned*	3	0	2	3	1 (2)	5	5
Wangaratta	-	-	-	0	7	1 (3)	-	7
Warrnambool	Returned	1	3	3	4	2 (2)	-	7
Wellington	Returned	2	3	4	5	2 (2)	-	9
West Wimmera	Retired	4	0	1	4	1 (1)	-	5
Whitehorse	Defeated	2	1	7	3	6 (4)	-	10
Whittlesea	Returned	2	3	6	5	4 (3)	-	11
Wodonga	Returned	2	1	2	5	3 (2)	-	7
Wyndham	Defeated	3	4	4	7	3 (4)	-	11
Yarra	Defeated	3	2	4	5	5 (4)	-	9
Yarra Ranges	Retired	1	2	6	3	1 (2)	1	9
Yarriambiack	Retired	2	2	3	4	4 (3)	-	7
		138	152	315	322	241 (212)	46	637

New councillor refers to any elected representative who was not a councillor in the 2012-16 term.

Note: fact sheet updated March 2017 to reflect by-elections held in East Gippsland, Queenscliffe and Melbourne to replace elected candidates who resigned prior to taking the Councillor Oath of Office.

^{*} Denotes mayors returned unopposed

^{**}Includes one intersex councillor

[^] Values in brackets represent female representation on the previous council

[#] Values in brackets represent number of councillors on the previous council